I was really happy with the Kagi trial, so I wanted Kagi's family plan and add the Ultimate for one user.
I went to the Bitcoin ATM a few days ago. I brought enough to buy Bitcoin and pay for Kagi.
The main bitcoin ATM I use was down, so I went to a different one. They charged me 25% interest, because I inserted the money before being aware of how much this particular ATM would charge.
I know bitcoin can be volatile, so I bought as much as I could buy with the amount of money I brought. I still had bought more than enough to pay for the family plan, just not enough for the Ultimate plan upgrade for the one user. Fair enough, I thought. I would just use Bitcoin to pay for the service, and then go buy some more Bitcoin and upgrade the family plan to the Ultimate plan.
So after sending LITERALLY all of the Bitcoin I had, save maybe less than a dollar, to Kagi, I got this:
You underpaid!
Amount requested: 0.00417452 BTC
Amount paid: 0.00413772 BTC
Why did this happen?
Complete your payment by sending exactly 0.0000368 BTC (≈$3.00 USD).
I have literally less than a dollar worth of bitcoin to my name, and it's about midnight, so I can't do anything.
What options does Kagi give me? To send $3 or to get a refund. And if I get a refund, I lose even more bitcoin.
Kagi, I really like your search, but I have to be honest. If you do this to me and don't leave me a way to just finish the transaction and insist on reversing my transaction and then take extra money from me(meaning that I'll be even further from having enough to pay for Kagi with bitcoin), it makes it hard to want to go through with it. I like the quality of the search results, and I wanted to set my whole family with it, to get them to use the product, but it's midnight, and I'm being forced to send money and can't get until tomorrow, or to lose a lot of money.
It really seems like this should be a better process. I am literally trying to give you money and I literally tried to pay like $270-ish dollars, with the intention of going to the bitcoin ATM and buying more to add the Ultimate features, but this ordering process seems to have set me up with a catch-22, where I end up losing money regardless of what I do. I'm pretty disappointed in this.
I paid more than the cost of the plan. I expected that at least I'd have enough credit to pay for the service, not that I'd be stuck in a limbo where I can't pay to complete the transaction and I can't reverse the transaction without losing money. My intention was literally to buy the product, and I added more money than the cost of the family account.